Are McDonald’s French Fries Gluten Free?


Follow us!
French Fries at McDonald's are NOT safe for consumption by those with any gluten, dairy, or soy intolerances.

French Fries at McDonald’s are NOT safe for consumption by those with any gluten, dairy, or soy intolerances.

If you came across this post and are just looking for a quick answer…it’s NO! They are NOT safe for Celiacs, gluten sensitives, gluten intolertant, gluten allergy, dairy intolerance, or soy intolerance!!!  Click here for the nutritional information on their website (click on the +Nutrition at the bottom of the page to see it).

Want more background on this?  Read on:

A couple of short years ago, I was just starting my journey to gluten free living.  Even though I had a great teacher (Dr. Aukerman), I stubbornly had to research everything myself.  So, by trial and a lot of painful error, I came to know the truths about many foods and whether they were safe for Celiac intake (and then I eventually learned to listen to him!).

Being someone who traveled a lot and loves spontaneity, I was convinced I could find foods anywhere I went that would be safe for me (red flag number one).  I read every fast food menu online, since most of them had started posting “gluten free” menus (red flag number two!).  I really just wanted to keep enjoying food!  It seemed that in certain cycles, I would find something that my body would “tolerate”, and I would eat it to the max (let’s just be clear about this…to unhealthy levels [red flag number three!]).  One item in particular I had read as “safe” were McDonald’s fries. Since I read that they are fried in a dedicated fryer (no cross contamination to be concerned with), I got excited, and then I found someone’s gluten free website that that said I could eat them safely! GF joy!!!

However…I’m sorry to say that two years later, they are NOT safe for you. The ingredient list STATES that the flavoring they use contains wheat. Well…wait.  It DID state that…last night!  I just pulled up the link again, but today (I find this fascinating)their official list now doesn’t show any ingredients at all! It just says “French Fries:” (see page 16).  Hmmm.

I also see that they no longer have a “gluten free” menu list.  However, I finally found the information (buried). If you go to their nutrition information page, go to “Full Menu”, search “Snacks and Sides”, click on “Fries”… they give you two links that leave their site about food allergies and the Celiac association.  Below that, click on “Nutrition”, and here are the actual ingredients listed (here is the link).

FRENCH FRIES

Allergens: WHEAT AND MILK

Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [Wheat and Milk Derivatives]*, Citric Acid [Preservative]), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Maintain Color), Salt. Prepared in Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil with TBHQ and Citric Acid added to preserve freshness), Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.
*
CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK.

*Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.

Steer clear, my friends.  Save your tummys and joints from distress.  Make your own at home!

-GGF Gourmet

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *